Soweto

Sowto Gospel Choir

“Prayer for Africa”

Wherever they sing, they amaze the audience. With two Grammy Awards and an Emmy Award to their credit, they travel the world to preach the joy of living. After the enormous success of their Swiss tours in 2012, 2014 and 2016, the Soweto Gospel Choir is returning for a new “Prayer for Africa” tour, paying homage to Nelson Mandela on the 100th anniversary of his birth. Always as powerful and colourful, their show will fill you with positive energy.

Combining traditional rhythms with an energetic and expressive dance, Soweto Gospel Choir performs a capella or accompanied by its musicians in a repertoire mixing gospel standards and typical South African songs inspired by the mbube and kwela styles (sung in several languages: zulu, xhosa, sotho, tswana, venda, tsonga, english…).

Since their arrival, the choir has been in constant demand. In January 2015, they were invited as stars at the Glo-CAF Awards in Nigeria – the largest event of its kind in Africa, broadcast to millions of viewers around the world. For this occasion, the choir collaborates with the greatest African artists such as Hugh Masekela.

Soweto Gospel Choir is always very much involved in charitable organizations, and has its own foundation dedicated to the AIDS Orphans Nkosi’s Haven Vukani and has already raised more than 5 million euros. He has always been an ambassador for Nelson Mandela’s 46664 campaign. The choir has performed in Cape Town, Johannesburg, London and New York with artists such as Peter Gabriel, Bono, Queen, Jimmy Cliff, Johnny Clegg, Eddie Grant Amy Winehouse, Queen Latifah, Wyclef Jean, Aretha Franklin and Stevie Wonder. He is also an Ambassador for CRI, 1Goal, United Nations’ MDG Envoys for Africa and Interpol’s ‘Proud to be’ campaign.

The perfection of the voices, the fascinating energy of the dances, the shimmering colours: everything contributes to seduce you.

Palazzo Congressi - Lugano

Volkhause - Zurich

KKThun - Thun

Co2 - Bulle

Théâtre du Léman - Geneva

Théâtre du Léman - Geneva

Theater National - Bern

Contact us

14 + 5 =

Seite wählen

Soweto Gospel Choir

„Prayer for Afrika“

Wo auch immer sie singen, sie verblüffen das Publikum. Mit zwei Grammy Awards und einem Emmy Award als Auszeichnung reisen sie um die Welt, um die Freude am Leben zu predigen. Nach dem enormen Erfolg ihrer Schweizer Tourneen in den Jahren 2012, 2014 und 2016 kehrt der Soweto Gospel Choir für eine neue „Prayer for Africa“-Tournee zurück und huldigt Nelson Mandela an seinem 100-jährigen Geburtstag. Immer so kraftvoll und farbenfroh, ihre Show wird Sie mit positiver Energie erfüllen.

Der Soweto Gospelchor kombiniert traditionelle Rhythmen mit einem energischen und ausdrucksstarken Tanz und führt a capella oder in Begleitung seiner Musiker ein Repertoire auf, das Gospelstandards und typische südafrikanische Lieder, inspiriert vom Mbube- und Kwela-Stil, mischt (gesungen in mehreren Sprachen: Zulu, Xhosa, Sotho, Tswana, Venda, Tsonga, Englisch…).

Seit ihrer Ankunft ist der Chor ständig gefragt. Im Januar 2015 wurden sie als Stars zu den Glo-CAF Awards in Nigeria eingeladen – der größten Veranstaltung dieser Art in Afrika, die vor Millionen von Zuschauern in der ganzen Welt übertragen wird. Zu diesem Anlass arbeitet der Chor mit den größten afrikanischen Künstlern wie Hugh Masekela zusammen.

Der Soweto Gospel Choir hat eine eigene Stiftung, die den AIDS-Waisen Nkosi’s Haven Vukani gewidmet ist, und hat bereits mehr als 5 Millionen Euro gesammelt. Er war immer ein Botschafter für Nelson Mandelas 46664-Kampagne. Der Chor ist in Kapstadt, Johannesburg, London und New York mit Künstlern wie Peter Gabriel, Bono, Queen, Jimmy Cliff, Johnny Clegg, Eddie Grant Amy Winehouse, Queen Latifah, Wyclef Jean, Aretha Franklin und Stevie Wonder aufgetreten. Außerdem ist er Botschafter für CRI, 1Goal, die MDG-Beauftragten der Vereinten Nationen für Afrika und die Interpol-Kampagne „Proud to be“.

Die Perfektion der Stimmen, die faszinierende Energie der Tänze, die schillernden Farben: alles trägt dazu bei, Sie zu verführen.

Palazzo Congressi - Lugano

Volkhause - Zurich

KKThun - Thun

Co2 - Bulle

Théâtre du Léman - Genf

Théâtre du Léman - Genf

Theater National - Bern

Kontaktieren Sie 

4 + 11 =